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June 17, 2014 
 
 
David D. Duncan, General Counsel 
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 
4000 Jackson Avenue 
Austin, Texas 78731 
    Via email: rules@txdmv.gov  
 
Dear Mr. Duncan: 
 
For years, the Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office has deputized local auto title 
companies to process auto title and registration transactions for customers purchasing or 
registering automobiles. The auto title companies are allowed to charge reasonable fees for 
providing this service, which typically fall in the $15-25 range. The customer could also handle 
the transaction directly with the Tax Office, which may only charge a $5 for processing the 
transaction.  
 
The private option has proven popular, since about one-third of the 300,000 auto titles and about 
10 percent of the 875,000 vehicle registrations processed each year in the county are handled this 
way. In turn, this has reduced our staffing and administrative needs at the county level; our 
Assessor-Collector, Bruce Elfant, estimates that this partnership saves county taxpayers about $1 
million a year.  
 
The Department of Motor Vehicles is seeking comment on proposed new Sections 217.111-
217.116 that would prohibit the auto title companies from recovering their costs of providing the 
service, capping allowable fees at $5. If this happens, the companies may cease to offer these 
titling and registration services, with the result that the workload will fall to the Tax Office. 
Because the $5 statutorily-capped fee the Tax Office can charge is insufficient to cover the 
transaction costs, county taxpayers will shoulder more of the burden   
 
This seems to us to be a solution in search of a problem. We have not heard any complaints from 
our constituents about the current process; in fact, many undoubtedly appreciate the convenience. 
Imposing a fee cap will thus inconvenience citizens, reduce compliance rates, and increase 
taxpayer-borne costs of administering the State’s vehicle titling and registration laws. This is a 
textbook case of creating an unfunded mandate where none is necessary.  
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We urge you to reject the proposed rule and to work with the tax offices at the county level to 
fashion a more reasonable approach to providing this important service.  
 
On Behalf of the Court,  
 
 
 
SAMUEL T. BISCOE 
County Judge 




