

Travis County Commissioners Court Agenda Request

Meeting Date: October 16, 2012

Prepared By/Phone Number: Michael Winn/ 854-4728 Elected/Appointed Official/Dept. Head: Dana DeBeauvoir

Commissioners Court Sponsor: Judge Sam Biscoe

AGENDA LANGUAGE:

Agenda Request for the approval of the order of the appointment of the Central Counting Station Personnel, Receiving Substation Personnel and Members of the Early Voting Ballot Board

BACKGROUND/SUMMARY OF REQUEST AND ATTACHMENTS:

Order Appointing Central Counting Station Personnel, Receiving Substation Personnel and Members of the Early Voting Ballot Board.

Exhibit A- list of Presiding Judge and Alternate Presiding Judge of Central Counting Station and Early Voting Ballot Board. List of Central Counting Station Manager, Assistant Manager and Tabulation Manager. List of Presiding Judges appointed by the Democratic and Republican Parties for the Receiving Substations and Members of the Early Voting Ballot Board. These appointments to be considered for approval by the Commissioners Court.

STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

ISSUES AND OPPORTUNITIES:

FISCAL IMPACT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING:

REQUIRED AUTHORIZATIONS:

Susan Bell, Chief Deputy Clerk, 854-9587 Michael Winn, Director of Elections, 854-4728 / 632-5927 Michelle Parker, Assistant Director of Elections, 854-9193/914-6575 Elizabeth Winn, County Attorney's Office, 854-9415

AGENDA REQUEST DEADLINE: All agenda requests and supporting materials must be submitted as a pdf to Cheryl Aker in the County Judge's office, Cheryl.Aker@co.travis.tx.us by Tuesdays at 5:00 p.m. for the next week's meeting.

ORDER APPOINTING THE PRESIDING JUDGE,
ALTERNATE PRESIDING JUDGE, MANAGER, ASSISTANT MANAGER, AND
TABULATION SUPERVISOR OF THE CENTRAL COUNTING STATION,
THE PRESIDING JUDGES OF RECEIVING SUBSTATIONS,
AND THE PRESIDING JUDGE, ALTERNATE PRESIDING
JUDGE, AND MEMBERS OF THE EARLY VOTING BALLOT BOARD
FOR THE NOVEMBER 6, 2012 JOINT GENERAL & SPECIAL ELECTIONS

Under Election Code section 127.001, the Travis County Commissioners Court has established a central counting station for Travis County. Under the same code's section 127.005, the Travis County Commissioners Court shall appoint a presiding judge and alternate presiding judge of the central counting station. And under section 127.002, the court shall appoint the manager of the central counting station; and under section 127.003 the court shall appoint a tabulation supervisor of the central counting station. Last, Election Code section 87.002(b) requires the court to appoint a presiding judge of the Early Voting Ballot Board in the same manner as a presiding election judge is appointed under the code's section 32.002.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Travis County Commissioners Court hereby appoints as presiding judge, alternate presiding judge, manager, assistant manager, and tabulation supervisor of the central counting station, and as presiding judges of the receiving substations, and as presiding judge, alternate presiding judge, and members of the Early Voting Ballot Board, those named individuals so designated in Exhibit A, which is attached and incorporated into this order.

The presiding judge, alternate presiding judge, manager, assistant manager, and tabulation supervisor of the central counting station, the presiding judges of the receiving substations, and the presiding judge, the alternate presiding judge, and the members of the Early Voting Ballot Board will serve in the November 6, 2012 joint general and special elections that the county is conducting with other participating entities within the county.

The alternate presiding judge of the central counting station will serve as presiding judge of the central counting station if the presiding judge appointed here cannot serve in the election. In the alternative, the alternate presiding judge of the central counting station may serve in another position established under Election Code Chapter 127, subchapter A.

BE IT SO ORDERED on this, the _	day of	, 2012.
	() I C I T P'	
H	Ionorable Samuel T. Biscoe	
	Travis County Judge	

Honorable Ron Davis Commissioner, Precinct 1	Honorable Sarah Eckhardt Commissioner, Precinct 2
Honorable Karen Huber	Honorable Margaret Gómez

Exhibit A

Central Counting Station

Presiding Judge Jimmie Lou Ford

Alternate Presiding Judge Bruce Leach

Manager Michael Winn

Assistant Manager Michelle Parker

Tabulation Supervisor Bob Trautman

Receiving Substations

Location	Democratic Presiding Judge	Republican Presiding Judge
Anderson High School	Scott Stewart	Mary Chamberlain
Travis High School	William Hamilton	Ronald F. Grahovec
Covington Middle School	May Schmidt	Michelle Felger Lockhoof
Dobie Middle School	Vivian Willis	Jayantkumar Sheth

Early Voting Ballot Board

Presiding Judge
Alternate Presiding Judge

Jimmie Lou Ford Bruce Leach

Democratic Party	Republican Party	
Dale Albright	Diane Fulton	
Gloria Alva	Carla Birk	
Ronald Ellis	Sharon Leach	
Margaret Ellis	JOY (ANN) VOSTATEK	
Frederick Fox	Susan Friedrich	
Bill Hamilton	Ruth Leibbrand	
Colleen Kain	Ramona Callaway Koehl	
Viola Lee	Lieb Wallace Koehl	
Janelle Ligarde	Verona Thornton	
Ramona Padilla	Helen Hall	
David Rawlins	Lisa Parcher	
Patrice Schexnayder	Carolyn Isbell	
May Schmidt	Lauren Isbell	
Scott Stewart	Sheila Glass	
Kate Whitaker	Adam Cahn	
Bunny Joubert	James Ritter	
Cora Hilliard	Jayent Sheth	
Anna Hearn-Darst	Alice Sheth	
Herman Prager	Emmy McDaniel	
Roger Knudson	Deidre Faye Hebert	
Jay Stein	Murlene D Johnston	
Rachel Havens	Jennifer McClurg	
Theresa Alvarez	Claire Smith	
Nancy Podio	Ruth Allison	
Caroline Reynolds	Steve Fallon	
Ida Jeppesen	Sharon Fallon	
Margaret Kaylor	Mary Eichner	
Deborah Johnson	Genie Sorensen	
Vivian Willis	Patricia Dollar	
	Wanda O'Leary	