Item 4



Travis County Commissioners Court Agenda Request

Meeting Date:June 12, 2012Prepared By/Phone Number:Irma Guerrero, Div Directorx43101Elected/Appointed Official/Dept. Head:Dr. Geraldine Nagy, DirectorCommissioners Court Sponsor:Judge Samuel T. Biscoe

AGENDA LANGUAGE:

APPROVE PROCLAMATION ACKNOWLEDGING JUNE 2012 AS TRAVIS COUNTY PRETRIAL SERVICES MONTH.

BACKGROUND/SUMMARY OF REQUEST AND ATTACHMENTS:

STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

ISSUES AND OPPORTUNITIES:

FISCAL IMPACT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING:

REQUIRED AUTHORIZATIONS:

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, This Commissioners Court recognizes Pretrial Services as an essential part of the Travis County justice system; and they uphold the law with dignity, and respect the dignity and integrity of the courts.

WHEREAS, Pretrial Services shows respect and dignity to the individual, be they defendants, victims, or fellow criminal justice professionals; they respect the presumption of innocence of all defendants, until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt; and the Pretrial Services professionals treat all people equally regardless of race, national origin, disability, age, gender, sexual orientation or religion.

WHEREAS, Pretrial Services professionals are responsible for supervising many defendants in the community; and are trained to provide services and referrals for defendants; and work in partnership with many criminal justice agencies, law enforcement agencies and community groups; and promote prevention, intervention and advocacy.

WHEREAS, Pretrial Services professionals promote the growth of pretrial services, as well as encourage and cooperate with research and development in advancing the field.

Now, Therefore, Be it Resolved that Travis County Commissioners Court does hereby proclaim June 2012 as:

Travis County Pretrial Services Month

and encourage all citizens to honor these Pretrial Services Professionals and recognize their achievements.

IN WITNESS WHERE OF, WE HAVE HERE UNTO SET OUR HANDS THIS 12th DAY OF JUNE 2012.

SAMUEL T. BISCOE County Judge

RON DAVIS County Commissioner, Pct. 1

SARAH ECKHARDT County Commissioner, Pct. 2 KAREN HUBER County Commissioner, Pct. 3

MARGARET J. GÓMEZ County Commissioner, Pct. 4