

Travis County Commissioners Court Agenda Request

Meeting Date: May 8, 2012

Prepared By/Phone Number: Garry Brown 854-9333

Elected/Appointed Official/Dept. Head: Commissioner Karen Huber

Commissioners Court Sponsor: Commissioners Karen Huber and Sarah

Eckhardt

AGENDA LANGUAGE: Consider and take appropriate action on a proclamation honoring the Westlake Fire Department, Emergency Services District #9, on the occasion of their 50th anniversary.

BACKGROUND/SUMMARY OF REQUEST AND ATTACHMENTS:

STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

ISSUES AND OPPORTUNITIES:

FISCAL IMPACT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING: N/A

REQUIRED AUTHORIZATIONS:

Travis County Commissioners Court



Proclamation

- WHEREAS, the old Roy and Davenport Ranches have given way to the Cities of West Lake Hills (incorporated in 1953) and Rollingwood (incorporated in 1963) and many other neighborhoods such as Camelot, Davenport Ranch, Lost Creek, Rivercrest, Riverhills, Rob Roy, and Rolling Hills West; and
- WHEREAS, this area has grown from just a few hundred residents to now approximately 18,000 covering roughly 18 square miles; and
- WHEREAS, the Travis County Rural Fire Prevention District No. 1 changed their name to the Westlake Fire Department in April of 1961; and
- WHEREAS, the Westlake Fire Department has grown from an all-volunteer department dependent upon donations from the community to hiring their first full-time 24-hour employees and conversion to an Emergency Services District in 1995 to what is now a full service professional firefighting and fire prevention agency with a community foundation to support its efforts; and
- WHEREAS, the Westlake Fire Department leads by example with guiding principles of ensuring and protecting public safety, conducting themselves in such a way to garner public trust, and providing a public service that is more than just emergency response;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Travis County Commissioners Court proclaim Saturday, May 12, 2012 in Travis County

WESTLAKE FIRE DEPARTMENT DAY

on the occasion of their 50 th anniversary as a fire department.		
SIGNED AND ENTERED THIS	DAY OF MAY, 2012	2.
	SAMUEL T. BISCOE COUNTY JUDGE	
RON DAVIS COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT 1		SARAH ECKHARDT COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT 2
KAREN L. HUBER COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT 3		MARGARET J. GÓMEZ COMMISSIONER, PRECINCT 4