

Travis County Commissioners Court Agenda Request

Meeting Date: 12/6/11

Prepared By/Phone Number: LeRoy Click Phone #: 854-7656

Division Director/Manager: Randy Nicholson

Department Head: Steven M. Manilla, P.E., County Executive-TNR

Sponsoring Court Member: County Judge Sam Biscoe

AGENDA LANGUAGE: Consider and take appropriate action on recommendations to appoint 4 voting members and 4 alternates, to the Technical Advisory Committee of the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.

BACKGROUND/SUMMARY OF REQUEST:

The CAMPO Technical Advisory Committee serves as an advisory committee for the completion of all transportation studies, plans, development and programming recommendations, required under state or federal laws pertaining to all surface modes of transportation and transportation support facilities. The TAC also serves as a forum and working group in the 5-County region (Williamson, Hays, Caldwell, Bastrop and Travis counties), for regional project coordinaton across jurisdictional boundaries. At the September 12 CAMPO Transportation Policy Board meeting, the Board approved the Technical Advisory Committee's "Option A" for revised composition of the TAC, to be included in the TAC bylaws, and at the November 14, 2011, CAMPO TPB meeting, the Board approved the revised TAC bylaws. The CAMPO TAC previously was 22 voting members, and now is, 32 voting members. Travis County representation on the TAC previously was 1 voting member and 1 alternate, and is now, 4 voting members and 4 alternates. The TAC bylaws require that appointed members must be comprised of employed staff, of the member agency or local jurisdiction, that has expertise in the following: transportation planning, implementation of transportation projects, or related fields with responsibility to that governmental unit or agency for some aspect of planning. development or improvement of the transportation system. TAC voting members and their alternates are appointed by their jurisdictions.

STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

TNR recommends approval of the proposed list of TAC voting members and their alternates (Attachment A).

ISSUES AND OPPORTUNITIES:

The change to 1 TAC voting member for every Transportation Policy Board member, addresses issues associated with a potential "walking quorum," and also allows the TAC members to more accurately represent individual TPB members, as well as representing a wider range of expertise on the TAC. The approved bylaws add TAC voting members to cities with populations over 7,000, that previously had no vote on the TAC. Those cities include Bastrop, Buda, Elgin, Hutto, Lakeway, and Lockhart.

FISCAL IMPACT AND SOURCE OF FUNDING:

Although staff time will be diverted once a month, there is no fiscal impact.

ATTACHMENTS/EXHIBITS:

Attachment A--Proposed List of TAC members and Alternates

REQUIRED AUTHORIZATIONS:

Cynthia McDonald	Financial Manager	TNR	854-4239
Steve Manilla	County Executive	TNR	854-9429
Carol Joseph	Assistant Director	TNR	854-9418
Randy Nicholson	Planning & GIS Mgr.	TNR	854-4603
Anna Bowlin	Development Services	TNR	854-7561

CC:

Teresa Calkins	Development Services	TNR	854-7569
David Greear	Traffic Safety Div. Mgr.	TNR	854-7650
Charlie Watts	Senior Planner	TNR	854-7654
Melissa Zone	Senior Planner	TNR	854-9435

: :

0101 - Administrative - 0505

Attachment A

Proposed List of TAC Members and Alternates

Regular members

Steve Manilla, P.E. Randy Nicholson, AICP Charlie Watts, AICP Anna Bowlin, AICP

Alternates

Public Works Dir. (TBD) Melissa Zone, AICP David Greear, P.E. Teresa Calkins, P.E.